master bedroom redo – upholstered headboard

October 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm 3 comments

Why is it that the master bedroom often ends up being the last place we decorate? The Nester talked about that here and showed some of her bedroom updates here.

We’ve been in our house for six years. One splurge I made when we moved in was on some pretty gray-blue silk curtains. I knew I wanted blue in the bedroom, but kept the walls khaki due to my fear of color and desire to be able to switch things up. But the room never really came together. This year, I decided it was time to spruce it up.

We bought the bedroom furniture when we were first married, but I’ve since have become less of a fan of the matchy-matchy furniture set concept. We wanted a king-sized bed, but we couldn’t afford a whole new set.

We sold the set on Craigslist to a nice couple who wanted it for a guest room. In our guest room, we had the dark, antique cherry dressers that I had grown up with, along with a darling antique cherry desk that my parents had given me – but none of it was really needed or really fit in the guest room. I was too sentimentally attached to this stuff, so it finally occurred to me to use THAT in the bedroom. We moved it in, bought a king-sized boxspring and mattress, and were on our way.

With the purchase of the bed, we really couldn’t afford a headboard and footboard too, and I wasn’t really sure what I would want anyway. Then I saw this tutorial and was inspired. I googled some more tutorials, figured out what I wanted, and enlisted the help of my handy hubby. For very little money, we upholstered a headboard and I love it – it worked out perfectly.

We painted the room a pale blue. So tricky – I agonized over swatches because I wanted a soft, pale, earthy shade of blue, and I know how easily that can go wrong. Once the paint was mixed, I was so worried that it was just going to be a light, light gray – but then on the walls, it ended up being an even brighter blue than I wanted. I decided to live with it, and I’m glad. Once the curtains were up and the room was put back together, I liked it.

Again trying to save money, I bought a king-sized white matelesse bedspread from Stein Mart – no bedskirt or other pieces required, and I used the shams from my old set. I bought some small throw pillow covers from Etsy, and she’s as done as she’s going to be for now.

Using the desk and dresser as end tables was supposed to be temporary, but I kind of like having all of those drawers and space next to the bed. They might just stay that way.
What budget-friendly projects have you tackled around the house?

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: , , , , , .

fourth of july cupcake toppers {free download} painted boy’s room furniture

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. JSolomon  |  October 10, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    I LOVE Centsational Girl! I also love the blue paint – I have been in love with blue paint for about 4 years now. That headboard looks fabulous! Since you asked non-specifically about projects, I built some of our own furniture from Ana White’s plans, and have refinished a bunch of cheap craigslist finds. I installed a chair rail in a room and painted it with oops paint from Lowes. That was probably more than what you asked for, but there you are.

    Reply
    • 2. Jaime  |  October 12, 2012 at 5:26 am

      Thank you! Heading over to check out your blog now. 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. patinaandcompany  |  November 13, 2012 at 10:12 am

    The answer to your question at the end of this post: check out my blog for the tip of a very big iceberg!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


