fun in oceanside, ca and legoland

June 2, 2010 at 7:56 am 2 comments

I wasn’t completely honest in my last post. I talked about some of my weekend plans, but I didn’t mention that we were taking off for a quick trip to California – I’d rather announce my travel plans to the internet after the fact 🙂 . My in-laws joined us for the trip so that we could take the kids to Legoland – their very first theme park. Luke has been absolutely obsessed with legos this year, and a lot of my friends told me that Legoland is perfect for kids their age (6 and 3). We really wanted to take a trip this summer, but we had to do it on a tight budget, and we managed to make it happen!

We got a great deal on rooms at the Holiday Inn in Oceanside, CA, which is really close to Legoland. We were especially lucky considering that this was a last-minute plan and a holiday weekend. I was a little skeptical because you can never really tell how a hotel is going to be from the photos on the website; I’ve been to places before that looked great online, but in person were old and run-down. We weren’t going for “fancy and luxurious” here, but we did want “clean and convenient.” I can not say enough good things about this hotel.

It’s a newer hotel, and it was immaculate (HUGE bonus points from me for that!). The rooms were spacious – two queen beds and a little sitting area with a couch, a large flatscreen tv, microwave, and fridge – PERFECT for traveling with children.

Holiday Inn Oceanside, CA

Holiday Inn Oceanside, CA

Holiday Inn Oceanside, CA

The staff was exceptionally nice – very patient with my energetic children bouncing around the lobby because they were so excited. They went above and beyond to answer questions, get us anything we needed, and just in general help us out. It was the best hotel experience I’ve had while traveling with my kids. We’ll definitely stay there again.

The hotel was a short walk from the beach. It was such a quick trip that we only spent one afternoon at the beach, but the weather was gorgeous and the kids had a blast. Later we got changed and walked to the harbor area for dinner – it was so nice not to have to get back in the car!

oceanside, ca  beach

The next day we headed to Legoland. We all had a fantastic time. The kids loved the rides, and my friends were right – the park is perfect for younger kids. I was a little surprised that Maggie was a little too short for quite a few of the rides, but she had a great time anyway. The park did get pretty packed around lunchtime, so I was glad that we had arrived when it opened and covered some territory before the lines got too long.

legoland california

All in all, it was a great trip – just a little too short. Next time, I’d love to stay a little longer, but the change of scenery was nice and seeing the kids experience something new was really fun.

Entry filed under: jaime likes this, kids, life, travel. Tags: , , , .

weekend plans fourth of july cupcake toppers {free download}

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Cosmetic Dentist  |  December 5, 2013 at 1:23 pm

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after
    going through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Regardless, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking
    back often!

    Reply
  • […] #wpadminbar .quicklinks li#wp-admin-bar-clickystats { height: 28px } #wpadminbar .quicklinks li#wp-admin-bar-clickystats a { height: 28px; padding: 0 } #wpadminbar .quicklinks li#wp-admin-bar-clickystats a img { padding: 4px 5px; height: 20px; width: 99px; } Digital photography reviews and tips, learn how to take better photosDigital Art Inspiration and Concept Art Galleriesa place out west […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

