cute little card

April 3, 2010 at 7:44 am 6 comments

It’s a little late for Valentine’s Day, but I have a cute card tutorial that could apply to any other occasion.

For Valentine’s Day this year, I was trying to come up with something cute for Maggie to bring to school. Luke, of course, already had his heart set on some Lego valentines, but Maggie’s still young enough that she was open to suggestions. I came across Tiddly Inks, an ADORABLE Etsy shop, and she not only sells her art, but also digital stamps that you can manipulate in Photoshop and use on whatever you want (not commercial use, though). What I was really excited about, though, is that she has several little curly-haired girls — almost impossible to find! So I chose a little curly-haired fairy and got to work, coloring her in Photoshop, shortening her hair a bit to look more like Maggie, and adding a little heart to her dress for V-day:

Then I chose a patterned background and added some wording. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do about envelopes, and then I came across this cute petal envelope template. I sized it down so that I could fit two to a page, like this:  And then we (and by “we” I mean “I,” since Maggie had lost interest by this point) printed, cut, and folded them:

Maggie got interested again when I got out the stickers. We topped each with a heart sticker to hold it together, and we were done! So although this was for Valentine’s Day, you could use the same idea for party invites or little Mother’s Day cards, etc. If you try it out, I want to hear about your projects!

I’m adding this to Tip Junkie’s Tip Me Tuesday!

Entry filed under: crafty, kids. Tags: , , , , .

favorite things: good stuff for real people busy busy {custom invitations • etsy shop}

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christy Croll  |  April 3, 2010 at 8:21 am

    I like the project and the colors. 🙂 Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Melissa  |  April 3, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Great way to use the petal envelope! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  • 3. Michelle Rasmussen  |  April 17, 2010 at 9:48 am

    Love it! ~M

    Reply
  • 4. sewinmama  |  May 25, 2010 at 7:14 am

    awww that IS cute. Thank u for sharing! I’m here from Tip Me Tuesday. That little fairy is adorable =D

    Reply
  • 5. Elisa  |  June 25, 2010 at 10:20 am

    I found you via Gussy. These are so cute! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  • 6. Freeman  |  March 9, 2013 at 3:16 pm

    Great blog you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find high-quality writing
    like yours these days. I seriously appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

