easy silhouette ornament/plaque tutorial

November 9, 2009 at 7:09 pm 11 comments

Last year, I was looking for a cute, inexpensive, and simple handmade project for the grandparents. I love silhouettes, and I had seen some cute projects around the blog world, so I combined a few of them to make what I had in mind. I wanted something smaller that could be used either as an ornament or as a plaque to hang somewhere.

These are far from perfect, but we’re going to call that “charming” and “handmade.” The grandparents loved them, and I even made some for myself and have them hanging on my bookshelves.

First, I took the kids’ pictures against a solid background.

IMG_3137IMG_3142

I loaded the pictures in Photoshop and isolated their heads and filled them with black. I did this because I am a terrible cutter and I was worried I’d make a mess of cutting out their actual faces like some of the tutorials I’ve seen.

IMG_3209
I printed them out on light-colored scrapbook paper. Then I traced the wooden plaque (purchased from Michael’s….very inexpensive!) and cut out the ovals.

IMG_3210

I painted the plaques with copper craft paint, used ModPodge to glue the paper on, and used more ModPodge to coat and seal the whole thing.

IMG_3211

I used hot glue to glue copper ribbon onto the backs. Mine were very unfinished, but if you’re fancy, I’m sure you can come up with a more finished-looking back.

IMG_3216

And that’s it….the finished project:IMG_3222

IMG_3222

I’m adding this to Chris’s “I Can Make That!” party at Just a Girl and Kimba’s DIY Day. Lots of great projects to check out!

We-are-BD

Entry filed under: crafty, kids, life. Tags: , , .

getting ready for Christmas already? (and new holiday photo cards in the etsy shop!) holiday card giveaway

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jenjen  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    I love, love, love that idea! I want to make some silhouettes of my kids and put them on plates, but am trying to figure out how to do it in Photoshop.

    Great job!

    XOXO
    Jen

    Reply
  • 2. Pat  |  November 9, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    How cute is that? I’m going to make my own soon as I see the grandkids. I love the idea.

    Reply
  • 3. Wendy  |  November 9, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I love how they turned out. I have always wanted to try this project, you have inspired me to make them this year – I think the grandmothers would love them!

    Reply
  • 4. heidi @ wonder woman wannabe  |  November 9, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    well, isn’t that just PRECIOUS!?

    Reply
  • 5. Twice Remembered  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Your silhouettes turned out beautifully! I really want to try this! Thank you for sharing!

    Reply
  • 6. Wendy  |  November 10, 2009 at 11:57 am

    Love this idea ~ never thought to use photoshop.

    Reply
  • 7. Laurel  |  November 10, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    So cute, so simple, so classy!

    Reply
  • 8. Mama Holli  |  November 10, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    LOVE these!!! What beautiful keepsakes for many many years to come!!! Nice tradition to start!! Thanks for sharing!
    Mama Holli

    Reply
  • 9. Katie  |  November 11, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I LOVE this. I have always wanted to try to make these but I never thought of using photoshop to fill in with black first. Thanks so much for sharing and for linking up!

    This is such a smart idea!

    Reply
  • 10. Kim @ Everything Etsy  |  November 17, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Great tutorial! I love ornament gift that are so meaningful for grandparents and relatives. Thanks so much!

    Kim

    Reply
  • 11. Bonnie  |  November 25, 2009 at 9:21 am

    So cute Jaime!! You come up with the craftiest, cutest ideas. I wish we lived closer so we could do crafts together! 🙂 Have a great Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

