in the closet

September 23, 2009 at 6:44 pm 5 comments

WARNING: what I am about to show you is not especially pretty. But it is functional, so I hope you’ll bear with me.

My husband and I share a medium-sized walk-in closet. It does its job, but over time, we still seemed to be bursting at the seams in there. My shoes always ended up in a jumbled mess on the floor, some of my accessories were scattered through the closet and some were in my bedroom dresser drawers, and I was realizing that there were things I forgot even existed because of the lack of organization.

I had an idea that we could use up the little wall space that we had to create some spaces for these things. I am good at being neat if I have a place to put things; it was just that those things had nowhere to go.

Chad and I figured that we (he) could build some shoe shelves, each just tall enough to fit my tallest shoes, and that would get them up off the floor:

IMG_4798

Next, I spray-painted some pegboard with coppery spray paint, and hung it as a place to catch my scarves and bags and a mirror. (I don’t love the way the paint came out, so I plan to repaint that another color someday when I’m feeling ambitious.)

IMG_4804

To the right of the pegboard, I placed a large square tray on the shelf and leaned a batting and fabric-covered foam board for my jewelry. The tray is a great place for chunky bracelets and things that can’t be hung, and I just used tacks in the foam board for my other jewelry. This way I can actually see everything, which makes me much more likely to use it than when I have to dig the jumbled, tangled mess out of a dark drawer.

IMG_4802

So these are my inexpensive, quickie ways that I made my closet work better for me. If you want to see some prettier versions of closet,  accessory, and miscellaneous organization, check these out:

  • Chris talks about pegboard here and shows some beautiful examples, and does her own pegboard project here
  • See how Sherry organizes her jewelry here and creates closets where there once were none here
  • A great necklace organizer at Grace Violet
  • Check out what Mandy did when her closet exploded

And if you have your own ideas for closet organization and maximizing space, do tell!

I’m adding this to DIY Day at Kimba’s!

Entry filed under: crafty, decorating.

brunch best pumpkin cookies ever!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandy  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Unfortunately, my closet organization was not DIY…it was “pay someone else to fix your troubles”!!! But I LOVE them and they still look as neat as they were in that post. Some things are worth the splurge!

    Reply
  • 2. Laurel  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    I love any organization – love the shoes!

    Reply
  • 3. Lisa  |  September 23, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    I am going to steal that jewelry idea!!! I LOVE That! It is perfect. Well done.

    Reply
  • 4. Katherine @ Grass Stains  |  September 24, 2009 at 8:15 am

    What a wonderful transformation! We have a similar closet that is in a similar state to your “before.” I will have to incorporate some of your great ideas!

    Reply
  • 5. ohamanda  |  September 24, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Very cool! I need to make a jewelry holder like that. Why aren’t there better jewelry containers/organizers in the store?!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

