brunch

September 14, 2009 at 7:45 pm 1 comment

I had a long-overdue little get-together with some of my friends today.

Now that the kids are in school, I thought I’d have all kinds of free time on my hands to get errands run, see friends for coffee, and clean my house. Not to mention work. I don’t know where the time is going, but those things aren’t happening quite as easily as I expected. So last week I decided it was time and sent out an Evite to a group of girlfriends, most of whom have kids around Luke and Maggie’s age. It’s very weird that we can have a kid-less gathering now.

I served a ham and cheese strata, which is a super-easy breakfast casserole made with bread, eggs, a little milk, ham, & cheese. There are dozens of variations you can make; I have often made it with chorizo, black beans, cheddar, and salsa for a southwestern version. I also made an easy pumpkin coffee cake, and the girls brought stuff to share.

fw200309_115strataphoto from foodandwine.com; click for recipe!

It was such a nice way to spend a morning. I recently stumbled across the blog 4 Reluctant Entertainers, and I highly recommend that you drop in! Lots of good tips to encourage you to open up your home and spend some time with friends. I love to entertain, but I find I often let life and busy-ness get in the way.

Have you hosted any get-togethers recently? I want to hear about them!

Entry filed under: food. Tags: .

is it fall yet? in the closet

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cena Evans  |  September 22, 2009 at 6:30 am

    Hi,
    Thanks for visiting my blog. I do think that we have the same countertops…..and creamy cabs are the way to go! Have a great day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

