is it fall yet?

September 4, 2009 at 7:32 am 3 comments

IMG_2650

Today’s high is 94. Believe it or not, this is 10 degrees cooler than it was last week. During most of the year, Arizona’s weather is beautiful. Clear blue skies, comfortable temperatures, and low humidity. But it’s this time, at the end of the summer, when temps are still soaring and the rest of the country seems to be getting some relief, that I miss the east coast. Fall is my favorite season, and I’m ready for changing leaves and jeans and football games and crockpots full of soup. Those things will happen here, but it just takes longer.

We moved to Arizona five years ago this weekend. I have learned that I am happiest if I don’t wait the long wait for it to actually feel like fall and just create a fall atmosphere when I’m ready. That means that soon, even if it’s still in the 90s, I will be breaking out garlands of fall leaves, pumpkin spice and apple candles, and generally making things cozier.

Melissa at The Inspired Room started the official launch of the fall season for all of us nester-types this week. Head over to check out what other people are doing to greet the new season. And she’s having a contest…..she’s giving away 3 $200 HomeGoods gift certificates. Oh, how I love HomeGoods. If I won, I’d get some accessories to warm up my dining room. I still need to fill in the bottom shelf of the new side table. Maybe some vases or topiaries for the top of the china cabinet, a table runner or tablecloth for the table, and some kind of pretty centerpiece. Fingers crossed.

IMG_4747

I’m adding this post to Hooked on Fridays too!

Entry filed under: decorating, life. Tags: .

baby girl room to big girl room in a few simple steps brunch

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. pk  |  September 4, 2009 at 8:34 am

    Wow. 94. I’m fairly certain we won’t see that temperature until next July! In the 70s here but sunny. A pretty fall day.

    Reply
  • 2. Malia  |  September 4, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I like your attitude about getting ready for fall when you feel like not when the weather announces it. Some years, I have to do that too, even here in Tennessee. We often have more Indian Summer than autumn cooling.

    Your dining room is gorgeous! Hope you get to some things to make it match your fall-ish mood.

    Reply
  • 3. Terry Kearns  |  September 4, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    We’ll be envying Arizona in a few months. Football season, yeah.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

