baby girl room to big girl room in a few simple steps

September 2, 2009 at 6:55 pm 9 comments

m's room

I was dragging my feet on the big switch for Maggie. It was past time for her to move out of the crib and into a real bed, but I knew that that meant some furniture rearranging, a little redecorating, and the likelihood that I would have two kids waking me up at 5 a.m. instead of just one. Not to mention that it would force me to accept the fact that my baby is no longer a baby.

But it was time.

Here is what it looked like before:

m's room before

We dismantled the crib, moved a day bed into the room, and began the setup. I liked the color scheme we had going, with a soft-but-not-too-pale yellow on the walls and some pinks, whites, and greens worked in. I decided to do a mistreatment similar to the one I did in Luke’s room last year. A couple of yards of a fun paisley fabric and some ribbon trim did the trick, framed by some inexpensive white panels from Ikea. I used iron-on hem tape and upholstery tacks for the valance, and had the whole thing done really quickly. Except for the part where I ironed the valance to the carpet, but that’s a whole ‘nother story. Oops.

IMG_4817

For bedding, I used a white mattelese bedspread that I bought on clearance from Marshall’s years ago. I’d never used it, but I knew a nice, neutral basic like that would come in handy somewhere. It’s queen-sized, but it tucks nicely around her twin mattress, and falls just right so that I don’t even need a bedskirt.

IMG_4818

A paisley-trimmed throw pillow and a new pink case for the body pillow finish off the bed for now, though I would love to get one of these pillows for her. Aren’t they adorable? I love the fun, bright Heather Bailey fabric she uses.

il_430xN.84759679The next step will be tackling toy organization. Any suggestions on a good way to keep the toy clutter under control?

I’m adding this to Kimba’s DIY Day. Head over there and check out the other links!

Entry filed under: crafty, decorating.

this week is it fall yet?

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. abeachcottage  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    wow great makeover and love the Heather Bailey fabric

    Reply
  • 2. heidi  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    looks beautiful! I love the flower print above the bed!!

    Reply
  • 3. Beachbrights  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    So sweet. They grow up so fast!

    XOXO

    Reply
  • 4. Amanda @ Serenity Now  |  September 2, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Pretty, pretty fabric! She’ll be so happy in her *new* room. 🙂 Visiting from Kimba’s party! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Southern Fried Gal  |  September 2, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    What a sweet transformation! I love that picture!

    Reply
  • 6. Someday Crafts  |  September 2, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I love that ginormous painting/print over her bead. so pretty!

    Reply
  • 7. Vanessa  |  September 3, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    So pretty. That pillow would be great in there, too. 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. rachel-asouthernfairytale  |  September 4, 2009 at 10:52 am

    It looks absolutely gorgeous and I simply LOVE the colors.

    Reply
  • 9. Jane  |  October 9, 2009 at 7:42 am

    I love your daughter’s big girl bedroom! Those few simple changes look beautiful! Thanks for stopping by my blog this week! Oh, and come check out Frugalicious Friday when you get the chance! This day’s about linking up your fabulous, most thriftiest home decor finds!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

