photobooking

August 27, 2009 at 10:22 pm 3 comments

IMG_4602

I discovered digital scrapbooking a few years ago. I had never really gotten into “real” scrapbooking, but kept thinking that I would eventually get around to doing it – I love the books that some of my friends and family had created, and it’s such a nice way to save memories for the kids. Then I stumbled across the digital version and discovered that that would work even better for me. I think it’s a little faster, and I love that you can replicate books and layouts without starting from scratch.

IMG_4603

How I did it:

I created a photo book for the first year of each of my kids’ lives using Shutterfly and their vast selection of layouts and backgrounds, and they came out cute. But as I browsed sites like Shabby Princess and Designer Digitals, I started to find elements and fonts and layouts that I wanted to be able to use.

I found a few tutorials to get me started, and created a 2006 photo book in Photoshop Elements, capturing the highlights of the year, and uploaded it into blank layouts on Shutterfly. (A couple of “getting started” articles: here and here)

I’ve since tried Apple‘s photo book printing (for my 2007 book) and was pleased with the results there, as well — to be honest, I didn’t see much difference between the two books, so I look for whoever is running a good deal!

This year, I used Adobe InDesign to create my own layouts. That’s the software I use for a lot of my freelance work when I design newsletters and that kind of thing, and I was able to create layouts and drop pictures in pretty quickly. My own books tend to be heavy on photos and text, and less on the decorative stuff, but I’ve seen some people get really creative with layouts.

What I put in the books:

For my 2008 book, in addition to photos, I tried to include more stories about the kids that I’d written down over the course of the year. When I look back, I’m always glad that I took the time to write down these little moments. It’s surprising how quickly we forget the specifics, and already I am amazed to remember things that happened a few months ago and see how much the kids have changed already!

I also included some pictures of the kids’ artwork; I’ve talked about it before, and this is one way I’ve found that I can preserve the cute stuff they create without taking up quite so much space.

IMG_4608

Slurp Your Blog:

For you bloggers, I’ve heard that blurb is a great way to capture your blog. You can slurp your blog (how funny is that?!) straight into a nice, bound hardcover or softcover book and preserve all of those images and memories.

IMG_4610

Any other scrapbookers (digital or traditional) out there? I’d love to see some of the things you’ve created. If you don’t scrapbook, how do you record your family’s memories?

It’s not my usual random decorating post, but I’m adding this to Kimba’s DIY Day again. It counts, right? 🙂

Entry filed under: crafty, design, jaime likes this. Tags: , .

school routines free art!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katie Weaver  |  August 28, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Thanks for commenting! Be sure to follow my blog so you can see when I do my transformations:) Happy Blogging!

    Reply
  • 2. Lisa  |  August 28, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I think it totally counts! I’ve been wanting to do digital scrapbooking myself but I’ve been CLUELESS as to how to start. Your post just gave me “the itch” all over again and some really good info on how to start. Thanks!

    Reply
  • 3. Bonnie  |  August 31, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I LOVE scrapbooking. I have never tried digital scrapbooking, I have tons of scrapbooking stuff though and work on it when I can. I am not as diligent about writing down our memories as I should be, but we try to take lots of pictures. I love the books you made! Photobooks are the way to go.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


