school routines

August 22, 2009 at 2:24 pm 9 comments

Here in Arizona, school has begun. I am a little disappointed in our start to the school year; I just don’t feel like I have my act together like I would have liked. It’s not too late, though — I’m determined to get a little more organized in the hopes that I feel like I’m ahead of the game instead of catching up.

Routine is the number one thing that makes our days easier. I always set the kids’ clothes out the night before to avoid last-minute scrambling for matching socks and sudden demands for princess dresses for school. Amy at Living Locurto has some adorable FREE printable tags to organize the kids’ outfits for all of the days of the week and morning routine cards to remind the little ones of their morning routine. LOVE THESE!

clothesphoto from Living Locurto

The Queen of Routine is the Flylady, and if you don’t already know her, go over and take a peek. I aspire to be regimented like that, but I can’t quite get there. Her “shine your sink” philosophy is quite helpful, though, and she has lots of great pointers to help running the household go more smoothly. I try to do a fast straighten-up and load the dishwasher before we’re out the door in the morning. Doing that definitely helps me feel less overwhelmed when we get home with a car full of bookbags and school papers and art projects.

Speaking of school papers and art projects, I still struggle with what to do with all of it. I wrote about this issue a long time ago, and I still seem to get inundated with mountains of papers. Martha Stewart had an article about creative ways to store kids’ art a while ago, and Chris did a cute wall pocket makeover to hold her kids’ papers. How do you decide what to keep and what to throw? Oh, the guilt.

0206_kids_gtartstorage2_mphoto from marthastewart.com

I’m also trying to get in the habit of preparing the kids’ lunches and snacks the night before. Nothing I’ve prepared so far is comparable to the photo-worthy bento boxes, but I’m still trying to figure out what they’ll like each day (that seems to change constantly). I’m still looking for ideas, if anyone has any!

I’d love to hear what some other people do to keep their families organized during the school year.

We-are-BD

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

scrap wood side table photobooking

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Allison Worthington  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    Great ideas. I am so unorganized. Hopefully this year I will pick up some *good* habits! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. rachel-asouthernfairytale  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    Those are such fantastic tips!!!! YAY! I love Amy at Living Locurto and those tags are simply precious!

    We’re slowly getting more organized. 🙂 Those are great tips adn great links! thanks for sharing them!

    Reply
  • 3. Malia  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I *try* to keep my son’s stuff in one specific place and my daughter’s stuff in another so that we always know where their school stuff is. I’m not a very organized person but I do at least try!

    Reply
  • 4. Alyssa  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Yes routine is a must in our house too. Love the ideas you have here.

    Reply
  • 5. Katie  |  September 2, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    It looks like you’re doing a great job! I use a tip I learned from one of the BD girls. I take a digital picture of all school work and craft projects that come home. Then I have a digital file of everything for the whole year without all the papers. I still keep a few of the really special ones or things they are most proud of making but it really cuts down on the “stuff factor.”

    Thanks so much for sharing with us!

    Reply
  • 6. Monica  |  September 2, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    my triplets just started pre-k and i’ve tried to put a good routine in place for them. after they go to bed, i lay their clothes and shoes and backpacks out for them. they each know where their “spot” is and go right to it in the morning. so far, it’s working well. gotta’ get a better after-school plan going, though…

    Reply
  • 7. Danielle@ExtraordinaryMommy  |  September 2, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Love having a routine – I am *trying* to stick to one. I love the hang tags, but uniforms eliminate the morning battle for us. However, I do have a 17 foot high stack (slight exaggeration) of school projects and papers 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. prerna  |  September 4, 2009 at 1:50 am

    Hi..
    I thrive on routines and organization.. Glad I found your blog!!
    All the best with back to school time.
    Prerna

    Reply
  • 9. Katherine @ Grass Stains  |  September 4, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Like Katie, I take pictures of the artwork and then put the pictures in my boys’ scrapbooks. I try to get three to four pieces of artwork in one picture, and I certainly don’t photogrpah EVERYTHING they bring home! I do tend to keep a “live” copy of anything groundbreaking IF it will fit in the scrapbook. If not, I just take a picture of it and let it go. With three boys and very little storage space, I just know that I could easily let our house be overrun by crap, and I have to at least TRY to keep that from happening!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

