scrap wood side table

August 20, 2009 at 2:02 am 24 comments

IMG_4743

I’ve been thinking about a side table for my dining room for a while now. I had my eye on some beautiful buffets that match my dining room table, but new furniture is not in the budget. Part of the problem, too, is that the space is narrow and I realized that most furniture pieces would be too bulky there (I had considered a dresser as one option, but it was too wide). So on a whim, when my husband had all of his tools out for another project, I pitched the idea to him. I knew he had a bunch of lumber odds and ends laying around — including some shelving boards from our closet and some trim pieces. He works for a homebuilder, and you’d be amazed at what those framing guys will throw in the dumpster! I have been known to force my husband to dumpster dive all in the name of a cheap home improvement project.

My kind, kind husband was, within minutes, cutting down boards and assembling a new side table for me out of scraps. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s the perfect size for this spot, and it cost us nothing! Thank goodness I still have cream paint left from the desk and china cabinet.

IMG_4747

Now I’m dying to get a big drum shade light fixture like this one here to replace the pendant over the table. I’ve had my eye on it since Sherry and John featured it on one of their mood boards, and I’ve actually been peddling some stuff on Craigslist to help justify the purchase.

And…I need some help! See that big gaping nothingness on the bottom shelf of the table?

IMG_4741

What do I put there? I had some tall, narrow baskets in mind to add some texture, but where might I find such baskets? I took a quick peek at Michael’s this week and didn’t see anything quite right. Any thoughts?

By the way…I snagged the cute cream pots and vase from Michael’s clearance for less than $3 each, if anyone loves a good deal on some neutral accessories like I do!

Be sure to head over to Kimba’s for DIY Day — always a great source for inspiration and lots of fun projects!

Update: I’m adding this to the Knock Off Knock Out party over here today too – go check out more great ideas!

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: .

princess party: the wrap-up school routines

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. BlueCreekHome  |  August 20, 2009 at 2:26 am

    Wow! Great idea and great execution of the idea by your husband.

    Reply
  • 2. Rhonda  |  August 20, 2009 at 2:27 am

    Great idea and great execution of the idea by your husband.
    Rhonda

    Reply
  • 3. heidi  |  August 20, 2009 at 2:43 am

    looks perfect in that space – lovely!

    Reply
  • 4. Laurel  |  August 20, 2009 at 2:58 am

    Yahoo for handy husbands – it looks perfect. What about a stack of books? I don’t know.

    Reply
  • 5. Anny  |  August 20, 2009 at 6:06 am

    WOW! It looks perfect in that space!

    Reply
  • 6. Beth  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Perfect for you space and cute to boot! For free even? Nicely done.

    Reply
  • 7. Dawn-Hydrangea Home  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Jaime – I love your side table! I’m working on an old hutch we just picked up free from Craig’s list and I will also need a side table for my dining room. It’s a great idea! Do you have a Homegoods, IKEA or TJMaxx in your area? They are all great for inexpensive accessories.

    Reply
  • 8. Ashley  |  August 20, 2009 at 1:49 pm

    That looks so good! I love scraps!

    Reply
  • 9. Cheri Peoples  |  August 20, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Great job-it looks like it came from a store.
    This is my first time to your blog. I also started a new KNOCK OFF KNOCK OUT party and I bet you have some things to put in the party-it’s every Monday. I would love to have you submit this idea next Monday. I hope you come over and become a follower and subscribe and I will do the same.
    Cheri
    Its So Very Cheri

    Reply
  • 10. Raelynn  |  August 20, 2009 at 3:05 pm

    WOW, for scrap wood that looks great!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Alicia@thriftyandchicmotif  |  August 20, 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I have the same predicament. I’ve been looking to use old dressers as a sideboard also, but they were too wide for the area . I was thinking about going to goodwill, finding a cheap table and sawing about a fourth off of it to create one and attaching it directly to the wall. Your plan looks much easier and beautiful!

    Reply
  • 12. Elizabeth @ blue clear sky  |  August 20, 2009 at 8:18 pm

    That seems the perfect size for your spot! And free too, even better. Keep the measurements in your purse or car, you never know when you will stumble upon the baskets and wonder if they will fit. I would suggest a fabric skirt if you need to hide items, but I really like it the way it is too.

    Reply
  • 13. lynn  |  August 20, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    That is a perfect customized piece of furniture for that space. Keeping with the theme above the table, you could place another piece of art propped up against the wall under the table. It would be an unexpected detail.

    Reply
  • 14. Crystal  |  August 21, 2009 at 12:08 am

    Great table, I think some super old distressed books might look cool, or maybe scrapbooks?

    I have a poll up on my blog about my BIGGEST decor dilemma. Come on over and vote, I need all the help I can get!

    http://imnomartha.blogspot.com/2009/08/first-poll-ever-to-paint-or-not-to.html

    Reply
  • 15. Tiffany  |  August 21, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Wow. You are a lucky girl to have a handy husband with access to free materials! Table looks great!

    Reply
  • 16. Bonnie  |  August 21, 2009 at 3:59 pm

    I really like the table! You are lucky to have such a handy husband! Can you come and decorate my house next?

    Reply
  • 17. Cheri Peoples  |  August 24, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Thanks for posting to the Knock Off Knock Out party. I hope you grab the button and come back often.

    Cheri
    Its So Very Cheri

    Reply
  • 18. Kim Chalfant  |  August 24, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    The table looks perfect in that spot. I have a sofa table that I have a bottom shelf like yours & I put a stack of 3 metal vintage looking trunks on mine. Looks great. I got mine years ago from Tender Heart Treasures.

    Reply
  • 19. Kayleen at This Old Chair  |  August 24, 2009 at 11:46 pm

    OHHH very cute!

    Reply
  • 20. Ally0005  |  August 25, 2009 at 12:40 am

    You have got to love those handy husbands, great table!

    Ally

    Reply
  • 21. Ashley  |  August 25, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I love your new table! My guy is pretty handy with woodworking, but unfortch, we don’t have all tat great scrap wood. Lucky you!

    Reply
  • 22. traci  |  August 26, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Love the table!
    Great job!
    Blessings,
    Traci

    Reply
  • 23. is it fall yet? « a place out west  |  September 4, 2009 at 7:33 am

    […] get some accessories to warm up my dining room. I still need to fill in the bottom shelf of the new side table. Maybe some vases or topiaries for the top of the china cabinet, a table runner or tablecloth for […]

    Reply
  • 24. Post-Modern Jen  |  October 6, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    I would love my husband to make me a table like that, and I absolutely love your color scheme and the way you’ve displayed your art above the sidetable! Inspirational note taken…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


