princess party: the wrap-up

August 17, 2009 at 6:10 pm 2 comments

The princess party I mentioned a few weeks ago was a success! We did a small family party on Maggie’s actual birthday, and she had so much fun that she was confused when I told her we had another party with her friends coming up on the weekend.

For her family party, I made the cake (with a little help from the birthday girl herself). I’m not much of a baker, so I used a butter cake mix and added a cup of sour cream — it makes it a little richer, and it was so good! I iced it with a white chocolate icing, using one of the Cake Mix Doctor’s icing recipes.

IMG_4551

If you’re like me and don’t bake much, her books are such a huge help! The recipes are simple and come out great. Having said that, I have found it virtually impossible to produce a cake that actually looks good (I just have no luck!), but at least it tasted good. And Maggie was thrilled with the “princess sparkle sprinkles.”

IMG_4590

The family party was low-key and fun, and then I got to work on the “kid” party. I created a cute little invitation design (the princess image came from here) and sent it in an email instead of as a paper invite (I was running out of time, and wanted to give everyone a little notice!).

maggie's invitation for web(I took the specifics out for this post to keep the internet crazies from knowing too much)

I printed out princess and knight images with the kids’ names on transfer paper and ironed them onto inexpensive t-shirts for favors – they were a hit! Here’s Maggie wearing hers at the party, and one of the boys’ shirts:

IMG_4619_2

IMG_4611_2

We ended up having the party at a local restaurant. It’s a small place that happens to be owned by my dad and brother-in-law, so we picked  a low-traffic time, set up the back room with tables wrapped in white paper (from Michael’s) and crayons, and played “pin the kiss on the frog” (from Wal-Mart!) on the patio. It was lots of fun.

IMG_4616

So that’s the princess party in a nutshell. Anyone else seen any great kids’ party ideas lately?

I’ve added this post to Works for Me Wednesday at We Are THAT Family. Go over and check out all of the great tips!

Entry filed under: kids, life, parties. Tags: , , , .

back to school and a great before & after scrap wood side table

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Susie Harris  |  August 18, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    What a cutie…happy birthday!

    Reply
  • 2. best pumpkin cookies ever! « a place out west  |  October 6, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    […] me a recipe for some fabulous pumpkin cookies. I am not a good baker (I’ve mentioned that before), but every now and then I luck out. This is one of those times. I followed the recipe carefully, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

