another furniture paintover

August 6, 2009 at 1:32 pm 16 comments

In honor of Kimba’s DIY day and Transformation Thursday at the Shabby Chic Cottage, I have another project that I did a few months ago.

Our dining room and living room are one big, open space. Our exclusive collection of mismatched hand-me-downs and side-of-the-road finds all live happily together in here. Years ago, when we had our first house with a true “dining room,” we didn’t have the money to buy actual dining room furniture to go in there. After keeping an eye on the classifieds, we bought a used (vintage? retro?) dining room set from a sweet elderly couple. I really just wanted something that would seat the whole family on holidays, and this did the trick. The set had seen better days by the time we moved to Tucson, so I managed to talk my husband into a new dining room table and chairs, but we couldn’t yet get any extra pieces to go with them, so we were stuck with the old china cabinet. Here she is, all decked out for Christmas a couple of years ago:

IMG_0026

You can’t tell from the picture, but it’s a different shade of wood than the table. I have plenty of mismatched stuff, but that particular combination looked all wrong, and since I have a lot of painted furniture in the adjacent living room, I decided to paint it to tie in with that stuff.

Here she is (again with the terrible photos, I know):

IMG_4595

IMG_4598

When we were in mid-paint, I decided to leave the inside brown. I don’t know if that’s a terrible faux-pas, but I liked the contrast with the dishes and whatnots that are arranged in there. And I figured I could always play around with some scrapbook paper back there for variety, like The Nester did.

Sooner or later I’ll run out of that cream-colored paint, and then I’ll have to come up with some new projects.

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: .

a side-of-the-road desk school lunches

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Delightful Dwelling  |  August 6, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    I love it, looks great. Those mirrors on each side of the cabinet are gorgeous too.

    Reply
  • 2. Kindness On Her Tongue  |  August 6, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    that looks like a totally different piece of furniture! beautiful! here from asptl.

    Reply
  • 3. Bonnie  |  August 6, 2009 at 3:17 pm

    You are so crafty and handy with this stuff!! I am impressed and jealous too. 🙂 I LOVE what you did with the old kitchen table that you are using for a desk, that is too cool. I really like your house from the pictures.

    Reply
  • 4. Gina @ The Shabby Chic Cottage  |  August 6, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    OOOOOooooohhhhhh! How pretty that turned out! Love it!

    Thanks for joining me today!

    Reply
  • 5. becky  |  August 6, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Ooooh, you can always buy more cream colored paint 🙂 I wonder if the inside of your cabinet would look even better painted a contrasting color. I like that you did not paint it white. I think it looks great. Well done! It especially looks so nice with the white dishes inside. Pretty!!

    Reply
  • 6. Joy  |  August 6, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Oh wow, it looks gorgeous with it’s new coat of paint!

    Reply
  • 7. Sarah from pewter+sage  |  August 6, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    Beautiful!!! It looks so updated and fresh now:)

    Reply
  • 8. Amber  |  August 6, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    Fantastic! We’re inheriting an antique china cabinet from my in-laws and this is exactly what we plan to do with it. I like the brown on the inside of yours since the stuff inside is mostly white and it contrasts. Or you could paint it a different dark color?

    Reply
  • 9. Miriam  |  August 6, 2009 at 6:37 pm

    I think it looks beautiful!

    Reply
  • 10. sarah h.  |  August 6, 2009 at 9:24 pm

    that turned out SOOOOO great!

    Reply
  • 11. Ashley  |  August 6, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Your new peice of furniture looks beautiful. I love white painted furniture, I’m actually about to paint two side tables. Wish me luck!

    Reply
  • 12. Anna See  |  August 6, 2009 at 11:55 pm

    i simply love this! it looks like a completely different piece of furniture.

    Reply
  • 13. Mandy  |  August 7, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Looks great!! You and my husband have been on the same wave length lately….

    I am catching up on blogs while the kids nap. Sorry I haven’t been around lately!

    Reply
  • 14. tricia  |  August 8, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    so pretty! I love the way it stands out now!

    Reply
  • 15. Olegs  |  August 13, 2009 at 9:32 am

    Thank you, interesting!

    Visit and observe our company high quality exclusive furniture.

    Reply
  • 16. scrap wood side table « a place out west  |  August 20, 2009 at 2:02 am

    […] My kind, kind husband was, within minutes, cutting down boards and assembling a new side table for me out of scraps. It’s nothing fancy, but it’s the perfect size for this spot, and it cost us nothing! Thank goodness I still have cream paint left from the desk and china cabinet. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


