birthdays

July 28, 2009 at 12:46 pm 4 comments

It wasn’t until I had children that I realized the significance that birthdays have for the parents — especially the mother. Of course I knew they were special because you’re celebrating that person, but now, when my children have a birthday, I see it not only as a celebration of them but also an opportunity to reflect on the excitement, anticipation, and nervousness that I felt as they were coming into the world, and the miraculous growth and development of the amazing little people that they are becoming. I feel sentimental and wistful and excited all at once. I want to freeze the moments because I know how fleeting they are, but at the same time, I have to remind myself that there are exciting milestones and new accomplishments on the horizon, and dwelling on the end of baby-hood isn’t going to get me anywhere. It’s just so hard to let go of that stage.

DSCN2846It’s hard to believe that my baby girl will be three next week. It’s such a cliche, but I honestly don’t know where the time has gone. Today I was trying to remember what the week before her birth was like….and I can’t! I think I was more relaxed when she was born than when Luke came, since he was my first, but I must have been so busy that I honestly don’t remember details about that week.

I’m glad that Emily is reminding us to slow down and notice the details.

Entry filed under: kids, life. Tags: .

etsy a nursery

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mandy  |  July 28, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    It’s crazy how fast time flies and bittersweet. I love how independent the boys are getting at ages 3 and 4, but I long for the days when they slept on my chest. I suppose I get to have that feeling again when #3 gets here, but I still miss those moments with the boys.

    Happy Birthday to your sweet girl!

    Reply
  • 2. deb@talk at the table  |  July 28, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    heart swells at the memories..
    thanks for bringing me back there

    Reply
  • 3. Jo@Mylestones  |  July 29, 2009 at 1:52 am

    Oh, I know exactly what you mean! Happy birthday to your little girl!

    Reply
  • 4. princessofsomething  |  July 29, 2009 at 3:46 am

    Aw. 🙂

    Happy birthday to your sweetie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


