an Unwrapped moment, a day late

April 22, 2009 at 3:11 pm 1 comment

I keep up with quite a few blogs, and the list is over-growing (and my time is ever-shrinking). I tend to be more of a lurker than a commenter (bad blog etiquette, I know), and I need to start doing better. Emily at Chatting at the Sky is encouraging us to take a moment to slow down and appreciate the little things with her Tuesdays Unwrapped series.

I love this idea, because I have been trying to remind myself to do just that. Instead of long, reflective journal entries, my “moments” are taking the form of scribbled observations on sticky notes that are accumulating in The Pile That Ate My Desk. Someday, those moments will be translated to long, reflective journal entries. Maybe.

Here’s my moment for this week: my son did not want to get dressed. He’s five. He had the tantrum of a two-year-old (gotta love those). My husband sent him to time-out. A few minutes later, as he was calming down, I saw my two-year-old daughter go over to him. She gave him a big hug as he whimpered on the time-out chair. And I heard her say to him, “It’s o.k., buddy. Say sorry to Daddy. And get dressed.” It was so sweet to see her compassion for her brother, and so funny to see her try to help us out too. Just a little thing, but those are the “little things” that I want to remember.

In typical overextended mom fashion, I’m posting this Unwrapped Tuesday moment on Wednesday. Sigh.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Luke’s Pirate Party summer reading

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. emily  |  July 10, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    I love the unwrapped moments that come in on Wednesdays…especially since it took me til Friday to stop by! This is a great moment to unwrap. It shows you how she is watching you and listening as you comfort them. It’s nice when they mimic the good things, isn’t it? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


