Wall of pictures

June 22, 2008 at 2:34 pm 2 comments

I saw an idea on Style Court that I like. Just not entirely sure I could pull it off. She featured several examples of large (very large) groupings of photography and/or art. I think that kind of arrangement has big impact. I’m just not sure whether it only works in a glamorous Manhattan penthouse or tropical estate or if I could make it look good in my real-life house too. Hop on over there and take a look and let me know what you think. Have any of you out there done something like this in real life? 

Photo from Style Court, [A past incarnation of India Hicks’ island master bedroom and other rooms. All Hicks photos by Arthur Elgort as seen in Vogue, 1998.]

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: , , .

Imperfectly beautiful Creative Concealment

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kimba @ A Soft Place to Land  |  June 23, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    You’re right. That does have a big impact. I really like it. Normally, I would think you’d want to coordinate it somehow. Maybe make all of the frames the same color but this really seems to work with all the different frames.

    I say go for it. And them come back and post pictures for us to see! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Chris  |  June 24, 2008 at 5:00 am

    You know, this is something I’ve thought about before too. I think it can be done, but it’s tricky. My suggestion would be to use the same color family (or wood tones), and if I were to do it, I would make sure my other walls aren’t overly cluttered. This way, the frames are more of an impact or “focal point” as they call it. So what if you try it and don’t like it? Then you only have 78 holes in your walls, right? 🙂 If you do it, post pictures! Good luck!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest


