Imperfectly beautiful

June 16, 2008 at 2:01 pm 14 comments

Imperfectly beautiful! Where do I begin? This is The Nester‘s campaign for today. She’s featuring links to everyone’s beautiful imperfection in their homes; how fun! I might be the queen of imperfection, so let’s see what I can add.

How about the family room? I love the family room. It’s cozy. I love peeking at the mountains out the window. I love when the sun goes down and I light candles and turn on the lamps. I love how comfortable the couches are. But guess what? It’s too small (so small, in fact, that I had to take this picture from couple of different angles to make my point). There are always toys thrown around. There’s a soft pink chair, belonging to a certain little girl, which does not match the decor. So what? There is always a stack of magazines and the kids’ books on the end table. So what? It’s our FAMILY room; that’s the point!

 

 

 

And how about the kitchen? I love the kitchen. That’s where the kids help me cook. That island counter? That’s where there is ALWAYS a to-do list, a grocery list, some keys, and my cup of coffee. See?:

The kitchen table? That is where we spend family meal time. It’s pretty beat up. We call it rustic. The booster seats aren’t so cute. See that empty basket? It should be full of fruit, but guess who needs to go to the grocery store? I’ll get there.

So, home…..imperfectly beautiful. I could post more (lots more), but you get the point.  

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: , , .

Kid’s art, continued Wall of pictures

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Christi  |  June 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I love the train in the floor – I see that all too often.

    Reply
  • 2. Diane  |  June 16, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Your blog is off to a terrific start. Your house is lovely, and your children are precious. I love the train line- my son was famous for making a hotwheels traffic line from our bedroom to the family room. 🙂 I always had to watch where I stepped.

    OH, and about the post below, I LOVE the new curtain mistreatment- looks fantastic.

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah  |  June 16, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    Love the line up of toys on the floor! My 2.5 year old loves lining toys up like that too.

    ~ Sarah

    Reply
  • 4. Susie  |  June 16, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    Love it… I really do love your kitchen! Thanks for letting us all in to take a peek, Susie H

    Reply
  • 5. Darla @ UltraBeautyBoutique  |  June 16, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Every kitchen has a train going through it, doesn’t it?!

    Reply
  • 6. The Nester  |  June 16, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I love your sofas and your view! And the train track–that is real life now, isn’t it!

    Thanks for sharing it! You have great taste too!

    Reply
  • 7. hookedonhouses  |  June 16, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    I love how your daughter’s pink chair is in the room. My girl would love that! We also have lots of “toy trails” like yours in our house, so that made me smile. Thanks for sharing your home with us! -Julia 🙂

    Reply
  • 8. Bella  |  June 16, 2008 at 5:19 pm

    Choo! Choo! I love your home, very family friendly 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. kellie  |  June 16, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    I live in the southwest too!

    Your living room looks cozy!

    Reply
  • 10. Tiffany Selvey  |  June 17, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    It’s not too small, it’s cozy. 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Bonita  |  June 18, 2008 at 1:10 am

    You have such a pretty layout and that rustic table is great! If it makes you feel any better I can tell by your pictures that your family room is bigger than mine and I don’t have a living room, only a family room. I could never fit that much furniture in mine! But it’s what we have for now so we make do.

    Reply
  • 12. Kristen Olsen  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    Love the trains on the floor – we see that daily here!

    Reply
  • 13. Melissa Lester  |  June 18, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Wow, that is quite an impressive train! Who would want to throw that off-track? Precious children, too!

    Reply
  • 14. lontheatte  |  August 3, 2008 at 4:28 am

    Thank you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

