Incorporating those little artists into our lives

June 10, 2008 at 7:11 pm 7 comments

I saw a great post at Blissfully Domestic about displaying kids’ art. I’ve been working on doing some of that in our house….trying to take it beyond the fridge. I have some cute little flowers the kids made on a side table:

Another thing I’ve done is arranged a group of my son’s watercolors in the living room:

For art management (because it sure does get out of control), my new plan is to delegate each child a drawer in the dresser near our front door; we’ll collect the art in there and go through it every so often to try to select our favorites.

Any other ideas out there?

Entry filed under: crafty, decorating, kids. Tags: , , .

Curtain upgrade Kid’s art, continued

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. HRH  |  June 10, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    I absolutely love the watercolors in the living room. I love how using the kid’s art makes it feel more like home. Looks great.

    Reply
  • 2. Chris  |  June 12, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    Hi Jaime. I hope you don’t mind, but I linked to your site today. I notice you’re a new blogger, and I also know it can be nice if other bloggers help you get some traffic. I hope my blog friends are as nice to you as they are me and they leave a comment. By the way, I’m a fan of Melissa at The Inspired Room too. I call her “the Oprah”. Good luck with the blog!

    Reply
  • 3. Suzanne  |  June 13, 2008 at 3:06 am

    Welcome to blogland. I found you through Chris (my blogging twin, we’ve decided)! Anyway, I have three littles who love to draw, draw, draw and lately I’ve been scanning their work and saving it as a JPG. In the coming year, I will make them art books at Shutterfly so they can enjoy them ‘forever’. I also frame them and display on one wall in each child’s room, but no photos to share.

    Reply
  • 4. Marie  |  June 13, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    I found you via Chris!

    I do what Suzanne (above) does… I scan some of the kids work and then you can print them like real photographs. I did that a lot when I actually scrapbooked. Now I just SAY I’m a scrapbooker when I don’t actually scrap. I buy scrapbook supplies. Does that count? Anyhooo. The real art? In a box. I love my kids, but artists, they are not. ha ha I really like how you have your son’s art displayed in your living room. It looks nice!

    Reply
  • 5. Susie  |  June 13, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    Hi chris sent me over.. welcome friend! There is always room for more sweet people. I did a post on displaying little ones artwork.. It was a a few post back. Wish I knew how to do the linkie thing. Im kinnda new too when it comes to that stuff. Anyway .. glad to meet you! Susie H

    Reply
  • 6. Nicol  |  July 21, 2008 at 6:56 pm

    Hello! I just came across your blog and I love the grouping of the 4 pictures done by yours kids. I can’t wait for my dd to be old enough to make me art for my walls. It would be super cute in a playroom.

    Reply
  • 7. school routines « a place out west  |  August 22, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    […] of school papers and art projects, I still struggle with what to do with all of it. I wrote about this issue a long time ago, and I still seem to get inundated with mountains of papers. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

