Curtain upgrade

June 8, 2008 at 8:54 pm 19 comments

The tap-tob curtains in my son’s room always bugged me. They were o.k., but I regretted that I didn’t buy longer ones so that I could hang them even higher. And I felt like they needed…..something else. I got some ideas from The Nester’s mistreatments, and here’s what I came up with:

BEFORE:

AFTER:

I found some inexpensive fabric with blue and green stripes, added that to the bottom of each panel, and trimmed it with wide ribbon. All using iron-on hem tape and hot glue (I would love to learn how to sew one of these days, but for now, I make due)! Then, for the topper, I folded a piece of fabric, trimmed it with the same ribbon, and tacked it to the wall with upholstery tacks. Better, I hope! It’s amazing what a difference it makes when you hang those curtains nice and high.

Entry filed under: decorating. Tags: , .

Decorating Challenge #1 Incorporating those little artists into our lives

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marie  |  June 13, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Oh definitely an upgrade! I love it!

    Reply
  • 2. hookedonhouses  |  June 16, 2008 at 4:56 pm

    It’s amazing what a difference that made! -Julia

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  June 16, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Wow! You did a great job. I love the coordinating striped fabric and the ribbon trim. The treatments have so much more character now! 🙂

    Reply
  • 4. Heather  |  July 15, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Those look great. I am very impressed.

    Reply
  • 5. Debbie  |  August 18, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    Found you over at the Nester’s site. Just wanted to give you props for the upgrade in the curtains. That looks great. I love the way the grosgrain ribbon looks. Very clean and simple. Perfect for a boy’s room.

    Reply
  • 6. Sandi  |  August 18, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    So very pretty…Love it!

    Reply
  • 7. Alyssa  |  August 18, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    great job. I like your ideas. I might copy a bit of it in the mistreatments I have in my girls room. A ribbon and a solid fabric…

    Reply
  • 8. Angela  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Fantastic job!

    Reply
  • 9. Kristi  |  August 18, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I love the color combo. The curtains look so custom and beautiful.

    Reply
  • 10. The Nester  |  August 18, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    This looks really great! I love it all! thanks so much, i know this will inspire people!

    Reply
  • 11. Kelly  |  August 18, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    They’re so adorable! I love the stripes and the color combination. They look wonderful…and professional!

    Reply
  • 12. Sarah  |  August 18, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    Oh that is perfect! What a great upgrade!

    Reply
  • 13. Bonita  |  August 18, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Wow! What a difference! Those look awesome!

    Reply
  • 14. Nancy  |  August 19, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Oh my! What a great mistreatment. I love it! What a great room.
    -Nancy

    Reply
  • 15. Jane  |  August 19, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Wow! It really changes the look. I love the two tones as well!

    Reply
  • 16. girly stuff  |  August 20, 2008 at 12:39 am

    I think it looks fabulous!

    Reply
  • 17. Elise  |  August 21, 2008 at 12:34 am

    Looks great, though i’d recommend bringing them down so they hide the top of the window. This gives it that “faux-my window is truly this high” look. 🙂

    Reply
  • 18. jennifer  |  August 21, 2008 at 8:24 pm

    This is GREAT! Way to go! Really fools the eye, that’s for sure….

    Reply
  • […] walls and some pinks, whites, and greens worked in. I decided to do a mistreatment similar to the one I did in Luke’s room last year. A couple of yards of a fun paisley fabric and some ribbon trim did the trick, framed by […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

please visit my Etsy shop!

Photobucket

Follow me on Pinterest

flickr

sweet sixteen invitation

mobile web design

Squarespace website design

More Photos

